Jason Kenny (R) got the nod for the men’s sprint over teammate Sir Chris Hoy (L) (AP Photo/Rick Rycroft)

This article was originally published on

The race schedule for Great Britain’s Olympic
track cycling team was announced today, and the biggest surprise in the
roster is the absence of Sir Chris Hoy in the individual sprint. Jason
Kenny has been selected for the event instead.

Both riders together with Philip Hinds will compete in the team
sprint, while Hoy will focus on the keirin as his sole individual event.

Hoy won gold medals in all three men’s sprint events in the 2008 Olympic Games in Beijing,
while Kenny claimed the silver medal in the sprint there. However, the
rules were changed in between and only one rider from each country is
allowed to contest the individual sprint.

“Both Chris and Jason are on great form and that made it a difficult
choice but we have decided to select Jason to contest the sprint and
Chris will concentrate on the Keirin. We believe this gives us the
strongest team possible going into the Games,” said British Cycling
Performance Director Dave Brailsford.

Hoy gave his support to his younger compatriot despite his
disappointment in not being able to attempt to repeat his sweep of the
Beijing Games. “Jason thoroughly deserves this opportunity and has a
great chance of success in the sprint. I’m now focussed entirely on the
Keirin and Team Sprint and my goals for these two events haven’t

Kenny will be up against Frenchman Gregory Baugé, who regained his
status as world champion this year after being stripped of his 2011
title due to whereabouts violations. Kenny was given the 2011 sprint
title following that ruling.

British track cycling team

Men’s team sprint: Philip Hindes, Sir Chris Hoy, Jason Kenny, (reserve – Ross Edgar)

Women’s team sprint: Victoria Pendleton, Jess Varnish, (reserve – Becky James)

Men’s team pursuit: Steven Burke, Ed Clancy, Pete Kennaugh, Andrew Tennant, Geraint Thomas

Women’s team pursuit: Wendy Houvenaghel, Dani King, Joanna Rowsell, Laura Trott

Men’s sprint: Jason Kenny

Women’s sprint: Victoria Pendleton

Men’s keirin: Sir Chris Hoy

Women’s keirin: Victoria Pendleton

Men’s omnium: Ed Clancy

Women’s omnium: Laura Trott

You can follow BikeRadar on Twitter at and on Facebook at
You can also improve your fitness and train with us on